My Heart Bleeds for our Muslim Brothers and Sisters in Sabah


Photo from Facebook Page of Defenders of the Philippine Sabah & Spratly Claims

Photo from Facebook Page of Defenders of the Philippine Sabah & Spratly Claims

It’s hard to smile nowadays when you know your brothers and sisters are being butchered in Malaysia. I am not a Muslim but I am a native of Mindanao which is predominantly a Muslim part of the Philippines. My mother is Catholic. My father is Catholic. I was born a Catholic. But I bathe in the same river where Muslim children bathe. I climbed the same mango tree that Lumad children (non-Muslim indigenous group) climbed. Ironically, I was a minority in our town. But I have no qualms with religions. They are but the same and differ only in practice of the believers and preachers. I am not a Muslim but I am a Filipino who is aware of my ancestral domains and as a responsible citizen, knows my obligation to defend my land, my culture and my people. I contend terrorism was created by people with superiority complex then blame it to others who look different, speak differently, believe differently and who were born with oil reserves below their feet. It’s 9/11 phenomenon. Our ignoramus Pres. Benigno Aquino III had denied the legitimacy of our fellow Filipino’s claim for Sabah instead of extending aid to the Sultanate of Sulu. I believe he got the nerve to side with the government of Malaysia for the pleasure of US government. Oh, what a culprit. What a puppet.

My heart beats for our principled Muslim Sinama and Tausugs who are willing to sacrifice their lives in the name of dignity and pride.

If you ask me what my religion is, I will tell you I’m a believer. I’m a believer of respect. I’m a believer of human rights. I’m a believer of all things that could possibly be done by human. And I also believe that art can substitute humans in that sense.

About Joanna Lerio

cultural journalist, multidisciplinary artist, educator, traveller, dreamer, yogini, vegetarian, advocate Facebook.com/JoannaLerioOfficial Youtube.com/juanalily Juanalily.wordpress.com/ Juanalilytravels.dreamtrips.com/refer Twitter.com/JoannaLerio Facebook.com/linanganng.kulturangpilipino Artistswelfare.org/join-us/
This entry was posted in Advocacy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Heart Bleeds for our Muslim Brothers and Sisters in Sabah

  1. Pingback: Cotabato Chronicle: Impressions of the City Old and New | ISLANG MALAYA

  2. Pingback: Cotabato Chronicle: Cultural Exchange with T’boli Indigenous People | ISLANG MALAYA

  3. Pingback: Cotabato Chronicle: Gensan by Day | ISLANG MALAYA

  4. Pingback: Princess Jacel Kiram on Understanding the Moro People and the Philippine Claim on Sabah | ISLANG MALAYA

  5. Pingback: Cotabato from the Sky | ISLANG MALAYA

  6. Pingback: Marat/Sade, a Classic Sample of Theater of Cruelty and angst not merely gone mad | ISLANG MALAYA

Comments

